Regional Skilled Migration Scheme Subclass 187 Visa
The Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) visa is a permanent employer sponsored visa that requires a job offer in a Regional Area of Australia.
RSMS Application Phases
• RCB Certification: the Regional Certifying Body (of Advice) will ensure that the position is genuine, and, in many cases, require that the position has been advertised;
• Nomination: review of the business and position by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection;
• Visa application: there are three pathways, and generally the skill level is lower than for the Employer nominated Visa’s. Applicants must be aged under 50, unless exceptional circumstances apply.
RSMS Regional Areas
• All of Western Australia
• All of South Australia
• All of Tasmania
• All of the ACT
• All of the Northern Territory
• New South Wales (NSW) – all areas excluding: Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong
• Victoria – all areas excluding Melbourne
• Queensland– all areas excluding Brisbane
Application Pathways
There are three possible application pathways for an RSMS visa:
• Temporary Residence Transition: where applicants have worked with the employer on a 457 visa for the last 2 years. In this case, no RCB certification is required, however an English level equivalent to IELTS 5 is required.
• Direct Entry Stream: the position will need to be certified by an RCB, and the employee will need an English level equivalent to IELTS 6. Applicants in trade occupations may require a formal skills assessment.
• Agreement Stream: where the employer has a Labour Agreement.

Free Assessment